Dereham Heritage Trust

CIO number 1187140

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 8 February 2023

Present 22 members

Apologies Jenny Atterwell, Joan Cole, Michael & Lesley Griffin, Sue Marsh, Ken and Sue

Rockley, Heather Ryder

Proxy votes Three proxy votes had been received, all appointing the Chair as the proxy,

and on all matters either voting for the Trustees' proposals or allowing the Chair

to use the vote at his discretion.

1 Welcome

The Chair, Peter Wade-Martins, welcomed everyone to the meeting

2 Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 9 February 2022

The minutes, which had been circulated before the meeting, were approved *nem con* as a correct record. There were no matters arising.

3 Chair's Report

Peter summarised his Annual Report, and expressed his thanks to the editor of, and all contributors to, the Newsletter. It was noted that an Annual Return will be submitted to the Charity Commission.

4 Annual Accounts and report from the Treasurer

Ken Hawkins summarised the Treasurer's report and Annual Accounts which had been circulated before the meeting. It was proposed by Steffi Spooner and seconded by Sue Walker that the Accounts be adopted, and this was agreed *nem con*.

5 Subscription rates

In accordance with the Rules adopted by Dereham Heritage Trust, the Trustees had proposed that subscription levels for 2023 remain unchanged from 2022:

single member £12

• joint members at the same address £20

In addition, it was proposed to continue the policy whereby new members joining between September and December receive half rate membership to the next 1 March, and those joining in January or February get membership to 1 March in the following year.

The meeting agreed these proposals.

6 Museum Mentor's Report

Megan Dennis summarised her report. The report had not been circulated before the meeting, but would be published in the next Newsletter, due out at the beginning of March 2023.

At this point, Peter stood down and Ken Hawkins took the Chair.

7 Trustees

Ken explained that the Trustees had made two errors in not following the Constitution.

First, following the appointment by the Trustees in September 2021 of Sue Rockley and Peter Wade-Martins, confirmation of those appointments should have been sought at the 2022 AGM, but the names were instead presented simply as existing Trustees (and were not challenged). Second, in preparing the agenda for this current meeting, Sue and Peter had been identified as the two longest serving Trustees required to stand down and be considered for re-election, when it was in fact Catherine Hawkins and Trevor Ogden who should have been identified.

After much consideration and review of the Constitution, the Trustees now proposed

- to continue with the proposed election of Sue and Peter for further 3 year terms, as these elections had been notified to all members and provided the basis for voting or not voting, and
- to present Catherine and Trevor for re-election in 2024, which would still be before their 3 year terms expired.

The proposed election of Hilary Williams (co-opted as a Trustee on 15 June 2022) was still needed and unaffected by these errors.

The meeting consented to these proposals. The meeting then went on to elect three Trustees - Sue Rockley, Peter Wade-Martins and Hilary Williams - in all cases voting nem con.

Additional nominations were invited, but there were none.

The Trustees had proposed that Peter Wade-Martins be Chair of the CIO and this was endorsed by the meeting.

Peter then resumed the Chair.

8 Any Other Business

There was no other business, so Peter closed the meeting.